Indiana Medical Student Program for Research and Scholarship


The Indiana Medical Student Program for Research and Scholarship (IMPRS) facilitates IU School of Medicine medical student participation in various medical research and experiential opportunities including laboratory, clinical, health research outcomes and community health education. The goal is to make a wide variety of research and clinical opportunities available to students to enhance intellectual inquisitiveness, foster an environment of scholarly endeavors, and support excellence in the development of physicians, physician-scientists, educators and investigators. The program is sponsored by a collection of sponsorships consisting of the IUSM Dean’s Office, Clinical Translational Science Institute (CTSI), and several NIH training grants.


The IMPRS mission is to provide a diverse array of research and scholarly options for the IUSM student community and to enrich the research and scholarly education for all IUSM medical students.


IMPRS is an 8-10 week program starting May 24, 2018 to July 31, 2018 depending on the track. In addition to working on your project, each student attends a series of weekly seminars and participate in the poster session at the end of the summer session on July 27, 2018. The posters will be judged and twenty projects will be selected to compete for awards in the oral presentation on August 1, 2018.


Getting Started

If you are interested in the IMPRS Program, applications for the program tracks within IMPRS will be made available in November and are due early in February of every academic year. Below is a general list of items we request but check the website for specific deadlines, requirements and application instructions, as each track is different. We encourage all students to apply multiple programs.

  • A letter from IU School of Medicine confirming you are in good standing
  • Your MCAT scores
  • A professional letter of reference (LOR)
  • A list of 3-8 faculty mentors of choice that you have interacted or researched (click here to access the IUSM ReSEARCH Connect)
  • A list of preferred campus to do the summer internship
  • Research idea, project idea, research interest/focus etc.

Time Line:

Click here for the time line of the program. 

Student Research Committee:

  • Brittney-Shea Herbert, PhD
  • Jonathan Tune, PhD
  • Mervin Yoder, Jr., MD
  • Bradley Allen, MD, PhD
  • Peter Roach, PhD
  • Janice Blum, PhD
  • Michael Sturek, PhD
  • Robert Tepper, MD
  • Robert Considine, PhD
  • James Walsh, MD, PhD
  • Linda DiMeglio, MD
  • Kenneth White, PhD
  • Sarah Wiehe, MD
  • Barbara Luve-Beckerman, PhD
  • Raghu Mirmira, MD
  • Richard Zellars, MD
  • Fred Pavalko, PhD
  • Dawn Bravato, MD
  • Beth Whipple, MLS, AHIP
  • Adam Roth, Medical Student 2016-2018
  • Steven Chen, Medical Student 2016-2018
  • Ryan Kabir, Medical Student 2016-2018
  • Christina Huang, Medical Student 2017-2019
  • Parth Patel, Medical Student 2017-2019
  • Anne Nguyen
  • Jose Espada

Contact Information:

Brittney-Shea Herbert, PhD
Co-Chair, IMPRS

Anne Nguyen
Program Director, IMPRS

Jose Espada
Director, Financial Aid